Closed Poll: Back Row Situation

THE POLL In the scenario pictured below, the setter on the left (#3) is a back-row player and is making the team’s second contact.  As a referee, what call, if any, would you make? No fault; play continues. (20%) Reaching over by the blockers, team on the left gets the point. (12%) Attack-hit fault on […]

Read More | No Comments

Five Questions with a Successful Junior National Referee Candidate

Andy Martin (Gateway Region) received his Junior National Referee certification at the 2014 Girls’ Junior National Competition in Minneapolis, Minnesota. 1. How did you come to the decision that you were “ready” to pursue the next level of certification? My region had developed a plan several years before I applied to be a candidate. The […]

Read More | No Comments

Question: Blocking in “Water Volleyball”

The following question was submitted to our blog: “We play ‘water volleyball’ in a swimming pool at a senior recreational club. We are all over 55, and we want to clarify blocking. Because of an injury, one of our players cannot raise his right arm up to block, so he blocks with one hand only. […]

Read More | No Comments

Must Watch Video!

Care to comment on the learning moments here in this match from Romania? Anyone know Romanian? Would love to know what the commentators have to say here.

Read More | one

Question: Double Hit on Serve Receive?

QUESTION: Is a double hit allowed on serve receive? BRIAN HEMELGARN RESPONDS: The quick answer to this question is, “In USAV play, Yes!” Rule 9.2.3.2 in the Domestic Competition Regulations (DCR) states, “At the first hit of the team (except 9.2.4), the ball may contact various parts of the body consecutively provided that the contacts […]

Read More | No Comments

Question: When Is a Blocker “Close to the Net”?

QUESTION: I understand all the rules regarding blocking; however, what is the threshold of space a player may block in? For example, can a player block from 5-10 feet off the net? I tried to look through the rule book and did not see any specifications. STEVE THORPE RESPONDS: The rules do not state a […]

Read More | one

Closed Poll: Foot Fault vs Positional Fault

THE POLL Team S is called for a foot fault, and Team R is called for illegal alignment at the same time. What is the correct call? Positional fault on Team R. Team S gets the point. (3%) Foot fault on Team S. Team R gets the point. (69%) Double fault. Replay. (28%) DAVE SPENCER […]

Read More | No Comments

Question: Co-Ed Blocking Rules

Question: I am looking for a rule on competitive co-ed blocking.  When is a male allowed to come from the back row to block, and when are they not permitted? STEVE WEBSTER responds: Co-ed rules can be found starting on page 108 of the 2013-15 DCR.  The rule you are looking for is 1.4: 1.4 When only […]

Read More | 4 Comments

Question: “In” or “Out”?

The following question was recently submitted to the blog:  “If the ball hits the line, is it “in” or “out”? BRIAN HEMELGARN responds: This is a basic question with a straightforward answer.  Rule 8.3 states, “The ball is ‘in’ when it touches the floor of the playing court including the boundary lines.”  Rule 8.4.1 states, […]

Read More | one

Calling All Officials!

The quote above was featured in Liberty Mutual’s PlayPositive newsletter. Perhaps we should start our next recruiting campaign among the spectators at tournaments! There is a referee who often encourages line judges to offer their flag to anyone who constantly tries to make calls for them. One line judge actually did so, and the dad […]

Read More | No Comments