The following questions were submitted to our blog:

1) How many times can one player recover a ball that is hit into the net? If the ball hits the net during play, and a player recovers it but it hits the net again, can the same player recover it?

2) Is it a fault when any player, especially when blocking a spike from the opposing team, touches the net?

LEISA JORDAN RESPONDS:

Question #1 has a pretty straightforward answer. The same player cannot hit the ball two times in a row in the situation you described, even if the ball hits the net in between contacts. Rule 9.1.1 states, “A player may not hit the ball two times consecutively (except Rules 9.2.3, 14.2 and 14.4.2).” The exceptions noted relate to blocking and multiple hits on the first team contact (provided that the contacts occur during one action).

Question #2 is a very relevant question as we enter a new season and a new version of the DCR (Domestic Competition Regulations). The net rule has changed for this season, and Rule 11.3.1 now states, “Contact with the net by a player between the antennae, during the action of playing the ball, is a fault. The action of playing the ball includes (among others) take-off, hit (or attempt), and landing.”

This is a major change from the previous rule! Players are still permitted to contact the post, ropes, or the net outside the antennae. In addition, players may contact the net between the antennae if they are not in the action of playing the ball.