On the Court Archive

Wearing Gloves in Indoor Volleyball?

The following question was submitted to our website:  “Are there any rules regarding wearing gloves in indoor volleyball?” PAUL ALBRIGHT, USAV INDOOR RULES INTERPRETER, RESPONDS: While the rules do not specifically address the wearing of gloves during play, Rule 4.5.1 states, “It is forbidden to wear objects which may cause injury or give an artificial […]

Read More | No Comments

New PAVO/USAV Referee Uniform

What are the “rules” for wear with the new colors (Blue & Gray) uniform shirts? Can we wear to any USAV event? If we work with an USAV-certified partner, do we have to match colors?

Read More | 4 Comments

Questions: Play at the Net

The following questions were submitted to our blog: 1) How many times can one player recover a ball that is hit into the net? If the ball hits the net during play, and a player recovers it but it hits the net again, can the same player recover it? 2) Is it a fault when […]

Read More | No Comments

Question: Serving Re-Toss

The referee whistles, the server tosses the ball in the air and lets it drop to the floor.  The server then serves successfully.  Her team wins the point, and she tosses the ball for service and lets the ball drop again. Is that permitted more than once in a single serving rotation? MICHAEL MCPOYLE RESPONDS: […]

Read More | No Comments

Playing the Ball with Your Feet

Question: I understand players are allowed to use any part of their body, including feet, to hit the ball. However, previous interpretations of this rule said that when hitting a ball with your foot, your foot should not come off the ground. Otherwise you are kicking the ball, which seems dangerous to both teams on […]

Read More | one

Libero “Double” Jersey

In the picture above, player #1 is designated as the Libero on the line-up sheet.  The regular players are wearing the jersey worn by #7. The referees determine that player #1 may not play as Libero because neither the Libero nor his teammates is wearing a solid color jersey. When the coach argues that the […]

Read More | 2 Comments

Is this sport court allowable for USAV-sanctioned events?

I recently worked an event where the sports court only provided about 1 meter free zone along the sidelines and less than 0.5 meters along the end lines.  The area outside the playing surface was a cement surface. The tournament director instructed officials to allow players to serve from the cement beyond the end of […]

Read More | No Comments

Five Questions with a Successful Junior National Referee Candidate

Andy Martin (Gateway Region) received his Junior National Referee certification at the 2014 Girls’ Junior National Competition in Minneapolis, Minnesota. 1. How did you come to the decision that you were “ready” to pursue the next level of certification? My region had developed a plan several years before I applied to be a candidate. The […]

Read More | No Comments

Must Watch Video!

Care to comment on the learning moments here in this match from Romania? Anyone know Romanian? Would love to know what the commentators have to say here.

Read More | one

Question: Double Hit on Serve Receive?

QUESTION: Is a double hit allowed on serve receive? BRIAN HEMELGARN RESPONDS: The quick answer to this question is, “In USAV play, Yes!” Rule 9.2.3.2 in the Domestic Competition Regulations (DCR) states, “At the first hit of the team (except 9.2.4), the ball may contact various parts of the body consecutively provided that the contacts […]

Read More | No Comments